Vidlers 5 and 10’s Blog


Priorities
April 7, 2012, 12:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

A man was calling the name of his young charge, who didn’t answer at first, then responded by saying that that wasn’t his name. “I’m COOL GUY!” he said, whirling around with sunglasses on. I laughed (it was pretty good!), prompting the guardian to ask if I wanted them (the kids, not the sunglasses.) This happens more often than you’d think, and I’m still not sure what the appropriate response is. I went with my usual “laugh so I don’t have to answer,” whereupon the guardian confirmed that I was, indeed, free to take Cool Guy and his brother. Hearing this, the former panicked. “But then I’d have to say bye-bye to my Wii!”

I was torn between amusement and horror that this was his biggest fear in terms of going home with a stranger, but then I was relieved. Always expecting the worst, I assumed he’d immediately burst into tears and say he didn’t want to go home with “the witch” or something to that effect. I know I shouldn’t take things so personally, but I truly was glad that the problem was not me, but the lack of Wii.

On second thought, I should have chimed in that he was free to go home with me, if he and the Wii were a package deal. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

