Vidlers 5 and 10’s Blog


More “Vintage Classics” (from various days):
September 3, 2010, 1:46 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I sold 4 pounds of Swedish Fish to one woman who said she “couldn’t get them where she lived.” I wonder where that is. Obviously not Sweden. Wakka Wakka Wakka!
 
I got in this morning and started to put away any misplaced items, one of which was a very popular screaming launching monkey dressed like Zoro (well, wearing a cape and a mask. I associate that with Zoro.) I’ve learned to tune out the sounds of their shrieking when kids play with them, but I didn’t want to be the cause of the noise. I picked it up gingerly and took care not to accidentally set it off, only to plop it down in its place carelessly and make it shriek. The sad thing was, no one even seemed to notice.
 
Some of our first customers were a couple who asked for “those hats old ladies wear in the rain.” I took them to the “vintage ladies’ wear” aisle (eyelet sleep nets, hairnets, bouffaunt shower caps, curlers, rain hats, etc) and they excitedly bought one and curlers. The man said it was for him. I asked if it was for a costume and he said “maybe.” They then asked me if we carried fake puke. I said yes and remarked that now I was really curious, and the man laughingly told me that if I knew, they’d have to kill me. Once I showed them the puke, or barf as the industry term is, the woman informed me that it was for a 40th birthday party.
I’m still not completely sure I understand the barf.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

